TRENTON, NJ — The New Jersey Secretary of Higher Education will begin awarding the first $150 million in direct support to colleges and universities in the Garden State to help offset the costs of COVID-19 responses, Gov. Murphy announced at his COVID-19 press conference in Trenton on Friday.

Higher education officials will have access to an application process.

“Yesterday, I had a very productive conversation with our college and university presidents relating to the many challenges they’re facing during COVID19,” Murphy said.

Sign Up for Scotch Plains/Fanwood Newsletter

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

You have successfully signed up for the TAPinto Scotch Plains/Fanwood Newsletter.

The governor said that he is committed to working in partnership with institutions of higher education to ensure they can meet their various needs.

“Our colleges and universities are among the very best in the nation, if not the world. They are a core strength of New Jersey and will play a vital role in our long-term recovery and economic growth,” Murphy said. “I am committed to seeing them stay strong.”

To receive these funds, institutions must submit an application to OSHE that outlines how institutions will use funds to cover eligible expenditures incurred due to the public health emergency between March 1 and Dec. 30, 2020. 

A breakdown of the $150 million in CRF award allocations by institution and sector follows.

Public Colleges and Universities

Kean University


Montclair State University


New Jersey City University


New Jersey Institute of Technology


Ramapo College of New Jersey


Rowan University


Rutgers University-Camden


Rutgers University-New Brunswick
Funds can be used to support New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station


Rutgers University-Newark


Stockton University


The College of New Jersey


Thomas Edison State University


William Paterson University of New Jersey


Total Senior Public Colleges & Universities


Community Colleges

Atlantic Cape Community College


Bergen Community College


Brookdale Community College


Camden County College


County College of Morris


Essex County College


Hudson County Community College


Mercer County Community College


Middlesex County College


Ocean County College


Passaic County Community College


Raritan Valley Community College


Rowan College at Burlington County


Rowan College of South Jersey


Salem Community College


Sussex County Community College


Union County College


Warren County Community College


Total Community Colleges


Private Colleges & Universities

Bloomfield College


Caldwell University


Centenary University


Drew University


Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus


Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus


Felician University


Georgian Court University


Monmouth University


Pillar College


Princeton University


Rider University


Saint Elizabeth University


Saint Peter’s University


Seton Hall University


Stevens Institute of Technology


Total Independent Non-Profit Colleges


*Princeton University requested their allocation be redistributed to other institutions facing greater financial need.


Grand Total, All Colleges

$150,000,000 is Scotch Plains-Fanwood’s only free daily local news source. Sign up for our free daily eNewsletter and “Like” us on Facebook and Twitter @SPF_TAP. Download the free TAPinto App for iPhone or Android.

Are you a business interested in reaching our audience? Email [email protected].